DISCLAIMER ON THE BABY SOUNDS: I usually record the samples I was watching on Audacity and pitch them down just to be safe when a TV show/movie/TV ad etc I'm watching may use the Series 2000 baby crying sounds.

My Best Sound Effects

Hollywood Edge/Soundelux

  • Hollywoodedge, Baby Crying Slowly PE144001 - That was my #1 SFX from hell when I was young in the mid-2000's until I was 17 in November 2015. It used to upset me when I hear it come on, like the first time I started to hate the sound was when it was used in a Baby Amore doll ad back then, it was so sappy and beautiful to see a little girl raising a baby doll (who I bet whoever owned that doll back would become a real mother now and had babies she can raise). When I unexpectedly hear the baby sound come on (e.g. Ed, Edd n' Eddy), it would remind me of that ad and that sound was the reason why I hated to hear a baby cry on a TV show, movie, etc. until November 2015 when I started to like the sound as I find it very amusing. To anyone who hated the Series 6000 one used for Baby Kate from Arthur when she cries (which I don't hate the sound but a bit unsettling) and who hates the Series 2000 one (like me), this sound is a definite better alternative. I previously heard it in "A Bicyclops Built for Two" (a Futurama episode) in January 2021.

Sound Ideas

Pretty much the Warner Bros/Hanna-Barbera/Disney/Jay Ward cartoon sound effects

  • These sounds are great timeless classics! Sure, there are some sounds that I don't like in these (including Mel Blanc's obnoxious baby cry sounds). To those who hated the sounds used in modern-day media (including WikiExpertXV), if someone liked them back then (from the 1930's to the 1970's), surely they would like them today.

My Neutral Sound Effects

Hollywood Edge/Soundelux

  • Hollywoodedge, Crash Metal Glass PE110801 - One of the non-human/animal sounds made by the Hollywood Edge/Soundelux I don't like. This "Big Low End Impact" sounded and reminded me of a car hitting a "low end" and the windscreen and windows shattering. I previously heard it on American Dad in April 2021.
  • Hollywoodedge, Medium Exterior Crow PE140501 - The first 3 seconds sounded like "Hhhhhrrrrrooooaaaaahhhh!" or "Huuwaaaaaaaaaa!". The sound reminded me of the 2015 Rugby World Cup opening ceremony intro. I am now neutral to this sound and that sounds comes on my head when I hear about something good happening (e.g. when a country has no active COVID-19 cases), but I still hated the prequel. I previously heard it in "Ned Frischman: Man of Tomorrow" (a Dave the Barbarian episode) in January 2021.
  • Hollywoodedge, Police Wailer Siren PE080801 - Reminded me of Mafia II where they used this sound in a slightly low pitch (sometimes in a normal pitch) as the siren for most of the police cars in the game (although the game takes place in the early 60's which sounds unnatural and out-of-place for a police car of this era), I now find this sound a little bit irritating. The first seconds of the siren sounded a bit like "BooooOOOOoooooo-". I previously heard it on Motorway Patrol.

Sound Ideas

  • The Series 6000 baby crying sounds - I used to hate the "CRYING, WHINING" sound back then because the sound scares me and it's unsettling, like when it was used in the intro of AAAHH!!! Real Monsters. But nowadays, the sound (along with the Baby Kate one that DCAsia hates with a burning passion) does bother me a little and I'm OK with that and I can handle with DCAsia's opinion on the Baby Kate one. I previously heard the whining one on American Dad in March 2021, and I can't remember where and when I previously heard the Baby Kate one.

Digiffects

My Worst Sound Effects

WARNING: SOME COMPLAINING!

Hollywood Edge/Soundelux

  • Hollywoodedge, Elephant Trumpeting PE024801 - When I was 7 or 8 years old, the longest trumpet (heard at the end of the sample) used to irritate me when they come on (e.g. The Simpsons, and in that animated cave painting scene from Ice Age). This sound should've not existed in the first place or should have used a different elephant to record the trumpets with. ClaireRabbit1 (Arielle) gets irritated by her 8-year-old brother, Edu, who constantly annoys her with that sound (I hope Edu gets grounded every time he does that and never to do that again but still is persistent and a little bully to Arielle)! The Hanna-Barbera one, as well as Animal Trax ones and Sound Ideas ones are WAY better! I previously heard it in "Crimes of the Hot", a Futurama episode in December 2020, but I can't remember when and where I previously heard the trumpet that I hated.
  • Hollywoodedge, Screams 3 Man Gutwren PE134401 (aka the "Howie Long Scream") - This overused man screaming sound effect (which incredibly sounds like "GYEEYRAAAAAAAARRRRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaggggghhhhh!!") also scares me (especially when I was young and nearly made me cry), and every time it comes on, I would plug my ears (or mute the sound off) to this sound effect! I first heard it in Nutri-Grain cereal ads before I knew the scream was used everywhere else (e.g. the end of the intro for AAAHH!!! Real Monsters). The prequel, sequel and the Wilhelm scream are better (which I find them more tamer and funnier). I previously heard it in a YouTube video in April 2021.
  • Hollywoodedge, Screams 6 Woman Panic PE134001 - I used to think that the sound originally debuted in 1975 with the movie "Jaws", but only to find out by Aberk81 that the sound was used only in remastered versions released from 2000 onwards (according to IMDb, in the 25th Anniversary Jaws DVD released in 2000, it had new sound effects added in the movie). I previously heard it in a radio in April 2021.
  • Hollywoodedge, Fart 1 Medium Fart Clo PE138901 - This sound is irritating yet disturbingly gross and disgusting!!! Who in their right mind would the Soundelux team record a guy farting in the 70's or early 80's (maybe the guy had drank beer, and you know what the digestive system does to beer), and probably 10-15 years later in the early 90's (when toilet humor became popular), someone else would use them?! I previously heard it a GTA 5 Funny Moments video on YouTube in March 2021.
  • Hollywoodedge, Gusts Heavy Cold Wind PE031601/Hollywoodedge, Whistling Wind Stead PE033301 - I previously heard it in "Oedipal Panties", an American Dad episode in April 2021.
  • Hollywoodedge, Medium Exterior Crow PE140401 - I previously heard it in a Subway ad on the radio in February 2021.
  • Hollywoodedge, Newborn Babies Cryin PE144301 - My most hated human sound effects made by Soundelux/the Hollywood Edge that I will never hear it again like the Series 2000 one. I think the audio quality sounds like it was recorded in the 1960's. I previously last heard it in a normal pitch in an audio sample on this site in August 2018, but I previously last heard it in a lower pitch by Audacity magic I recorded in "The Girlfriend", an Amazing World of Gumball episode in November 2020.
  • Hollywoodedge, Cats Two Angry YowlsD PE022601 - "RREEEAAAAAAAAOOOOWWWRRRRRRR!!!" *BOOM* SHUT THE F*** UP BOTH OF YOU GODDAMNED FELINES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (KILLS YOU BOTH HORRIBLY AND BURNS YOU IN A HOLE) These cats irritate and scare the living daylights out of almost everyone here in this Wiki and they need to calm down or should have been put down back then. But seriously, this is my most hated non-human Hollywoodedge/Soundelux sound effect. This sound effect, which is just a sound recording of just 2 real cats fighting recorded by John Leveque and the Soundelux team circa 1981 (and no, the yowls are not done by a voice actor, it's done by the cats themselves), is extremely overused and predictable because it's used very often for a cat (or a lion, cougar, tiger, cheetah, leopard, panther, lynx, jaguar, puma, or any wild feline animal for comedy) when he/she gets upset. It's sometimes used off-screen after someone throws an object offstage (also for comedy) and out of nowhere for no reason as a take in slapstick shows like Ed, Edd n' Eddy and Johnny Test. This is a very extremely annoying, irritating sound effect to us users in this Wiki because of how very popular it's used by sound editors around the world (including those from the USA, Canada, UK, Europe, Australia, New Zealand, and very rarely, Japan) since the early 1990's because they probably find it funny and wanted to put it in a piece of media they're working with. Travis Powers (sound editor for the Simpsons and Futurama) started using the Premiere Edition 1 since season 2 of the Simpsons (which first aired in 1990, the same year said SFX library was released) and he started using the cat yowls in the very first Treehouse of Horror episode. Every time I hear this sound, it makes me want to listen to all the yowls (without the pauses) and then listen to the 3rd yowl (which reminds me of the Simpsons, and in the first episode of the Fairly Odd Parents called "The Big Problem" after Vicky throws Timmy's hat offstage) on loop for an amount of time. I remember when I was very young, these cat yowls used to upset me and nearly made me cry. As I said before, these cats should have been put down or were born as unborn kittens or the parents of the cats should have been neutered back before the sound would be recorded circa 1981. Oh, and I have an angry message to Lon Bender, Wylie Stateman, Gordon Ecker, John Leveque, and the Soundelux team who made the demonic "cat-manian devil" sound effect... F*** YOU FOR MAKING THIS DEMONIC SOUND THAT IS USED A LOT BY SOUND EDITORS BECAUSE THEY PROBABLY THINK IT SOUNDS FUNNY TO THEM, AND HATED BY ALMOST EVERYONE WITH A FIERY VOLCANO-ERUPTING PASSION, AND I HOPE YOU ALL GO BURN IN F***ING HELL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! D:< Sorry about that, but these cat yowls need to be replaced with the Disney/Animal Trax ones, which sounds tamer and better. On a personal note, I love cats and I have 3 cute ones at home (1 female tabby named "Tilly", and 2 male gingers (one part ragdoll) named "Felix" and "Hudson"). I previously heard the 1st yowl in "Baby Think-About-It" (a Braceface episode) in October 2020, the 2nd yowl in "Rapture's Delight" (an American Dad episode) in March 2021, the 3rd yowl in "I Am the Jeans: The Gina Lavetti Story" (an American Dad episode) in April 2021, the 4th yowl in the "Cats at Home" sketch in "Things Look Bad For The Streepster" (a Robot Chicken episode) in March 2021, the 5th yowl in "The Kids Are All Fight" (a Simpsons episode) in October 2020, and the 6th yowl in "Cat Orgy" (a South Park episode) in September 2020 or "Stuffed Animals" (a Zig and Sharko episode) in January 2021.

Warner Brothers

The baby crying sounds are the only WB/Looney Tunes sounds I ever hated, but nonetheless the Warner Bros and Hanna-Barbera sound effects are very good as they are timeless classics (and so are the classic WB/Looney Tunes cartoons themselves!). My sincere apologies to Mel Blanc (who died in 1989 and he was the original voice of many Looney Tunes and other classic cartoon characters (e.g. Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, Porky Pig, Barney Rubble), and an inspiration to many voice actors including Billy West) for having to make those vocal sounds. The first one is very irritating and annoying and gets stuck into my head for minutes, or worse, HOURS. This sound was used for a baby crying at a Denny's restaurant and getting shouted at by Brian Griffin in a Family Guy episode "Screwed the Pooch" and his shouting is what I feel when I hear this sound...

"WAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU LIKE THAT????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! HUH????????????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU LIKE THAT????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU JUST TUNE THIS OUT, DON'T YOU???????????????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WELL, TUNE THIS OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SHUT UP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

As for the third one... this is worse and disturbing than the first one! Oh, and the second half in the first cry sound reminds me a bit of Dee Bradley Baker. I previously heard the first one in "Adventures in Supersitting" (a Sidekick episode) in December 2020, and the second and third ones in the audio samples on this site in May 2020.

Sound Ideas

  • Sound Ideas, AUTO, CRASH - CAR APPROACH FAST, SKID, HEAD ON COLLISION - One of the non-human SFX by Sound Ideas I hate. The crashing part sounded like the Hollywood Edge made this sound (except it sounds less satisfying). It was used a lot on Car Crash TV. I previously heard it in "Cripple Fight", a South Park episode in September 2020.
  • Sound Ideas, HUMAN, CRY - HEAVY CRYING: FEMALE (aka HollywoodEdge (Europe Edition), Roland UK - Woman Cries) - This sound effect is very sad and disturbing which figuratively cuts too many onions to listen to, it's my most hated Series 6000 sound effect. I felt very bad for the Canadian woman who cried in the early 90's in this sound effect (maybe after she broke up with his partner, or divorced her husband, or got fired from her job, or watched something sad, or someone in her family passed away). I previously last heard it probably in a radio ad in Grand Theft Auto V in 2016.
  • Sound Ideas, LAUGHTER, CHILD - FEMALE CHILD: LAUGHING, HUMAN 01 - This sound of a 1980's Canadian little girl laughing is disturbing and creepy to listen to, but I also heard something from Series 2000 that's even more worse! I can't remember when and where I previously heard it.
  • And before you read my opinion on my number one sound effects from hell made by Sound Ideas and my all-time #1 SFXs I ever hated, I must warn that you will find this following opinion very disturbing. But anyways, my #1 sound effects from hell made by Sound Ideas (and also my #1 all-time SFXs I ever hated) is Sound Ideas, BABY - CRYING, HUMAN 01, Sound Ideas, BABY - CRYING, HUMAN 02 (aka HiT Entertainment Sample Library (in association with HollywoodEdge) - Baby Cries), and Sound Ideas, BABY - CRYING, OUT OF BREATH, HUMAN - "UWAAAAAAAAAAAAOOOOWWWWWWHHHHHHHHHH!!!!! UUWAAAAAAAAEEEAAAAAAAAoooowwwwwwhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!" GRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!! *BOOM BOOM BOOM BOOM!!* SHUT THE F*** UP!!!!!!!!!! D:< JESUS H CHRIST, THAT'S THE MOST DISTURBING, CRINGEY, AND THE WORST BABY CRYING SOUNDS I HAVE EVER HEARD IN MY 23-YEAR-OLD LIFE AND ALSO MY MOST HATED SOUNDS MADE BY SOUND IDEAS (AND THE WHOLE STOCK SFX SOUNDS EVER EXISTED) EVER WITH A FIREY PASSION!!! People may remember the out of breath sound used at the beginning of a short interlude song by Tool from their album "Aenima" (released in 1996) named "Cesaro Summability". The sounds are full of moaning, very loud screams and cries, wails, whimpers that are obnoxious and I cannot stand them! If I can recall, when I was 3 years old, one of the baby crying sounds was used in a NZ Yellow Pages ad when a guy walks into a room and a baby cries off-screen in a cot and the guy uses the Yellow Pages to hire an orchestra for the baby to go to sleep. That sound scared me which made me cry and lose my breath at the same time! Seriously, if I listen to these sounds of a 1980's Canadian newborn(?) baby screaming and crying/wailing/whimpering abruptly and unexpectedly in a normal pitch when I watch/listen something (which they sound like torture like listening to nails on a chalkboard), I will get emotional reactions and rather grant myself the sweet release of death after getting it stuck in my head for hours and then I rather watch the 1999 NSPCC "Can't Look" PIF (PIF is a British PSA) and/or listen to the calm Princess Peach voice tracks from Mario Kart 64 (thanks Hotheart123). I rather go back in time to Toronto Canada in the mid-1980's when Series 2000 was worked on and shout at the baby who cries in the sounds, "SHUUUUUUT UUUUUUPPP!!!!!!!!! OR I'LL SMASH YOUR FACE AGAINST THAT COT IF YOU STOP YOUR SCREAMING NOOOOIIIISE!!!!!!" like an angry abusive British mum from the first 10 seconds of aforementioned PIF, then smash the baby's face and say "I WISH YOU WOULD NEVER BEEN BORN YOU SCREAMING LITTLE PIECE OF F***ING S***!" as the baby slowly dies. I also wish the baby who cried in these sounds would never been born (e.g. not existing, euthanized back then, killed as an unborn fetus or egg or sperm cell, could be by abortion or miscarriage), as well as the parents of the baby who cries in these sounds (e.g. by one of the aforementioned reasons, additionally, killed before they had children or the father got an erectile dysfunction). And I also wish the Sound Ideas team who worked on Series 2000 should have recorded another crying baby instead of the one they recorded for the first 2 baby crying sounds of the SFX library. When I watch a TV show/movie/ad or any media that uses Series 2000 sounds where a baby appears (especially on media from Canada and UK in the 90's/2000's, and from USA in the late 80's/early 90's), I use Audacity to record the part where the baby cries and lower the pitch of the recording to -20 semitones or somewhere lower, and listen to the baby crying sounds with the pitch very low because it sounds tamer and safer to listen to than normal pitch, but my heart rate sometimes gets above 100 beats per minute (like 90's Eurodance music in my bones) when I'm about to listen to the lowered pitch sample (which to me sounds like someone getting demon-possessed), like the time when DCAsia gets scared when he thinks about the Series 6000 baby cry sound. Oh, did I mention that the sound gives me nightmares, and in my nightmares, I try to stay away from the sound playing randomly, and I can also imitate the sound really well in real life? Thank goodness these sounds weren't overused and I've never heard these sounds in a normal pitch since December 2017 (except the second one) when I heard the out of breath one in the NSPCC "Can't Look" ad, the first one in "Why Must I Be a Crustacean in Love?" (a Futurama episode), and the second one in a Robot Chicken episode in 2016 or something, and the last time I recorded the sample and pitched down was the first one in an Indian movie from 1999 named "Devi" in April 2021, the second one from "Two Agents and a Baby" (an Odd Squad episode) in March 2021, and the out of breath one from "Stuffed Animals" (a Zig and Sharko episode) in January 2021, but they need to be taken down from media and replaced with sounds that sound more better, like Hollywoodedge, Baby Crying Slowly PE144001, Hollywoodedge, Baby Whining Short Cr PE144101, Sound Ideas, HUMAN, BABY - EIGHT WEEK OLD BABY: CRYING, Sound Ideas, HUMAN, BABY - EIGHT MONTH OLD BABY: CRYING and the Series 1000 baby crying sounds. Oh, one more thing... F*** YOU BRIAN NIMENS, THE FOUNDER OF SOUND IDEAS, AND THE SOUND IDEAS TEAM FOR MAKING THIS DEMON-POSSESSED BABY CRYING SOUND THAT I HATE SO F***ING MUCH WITH A HELL-RAISING FIREY PASSION 34 YEARS AGO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! GO BURN IN A HOLE YOU HOSERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! D:<

Dishonorable Mentions

Hollywood Edge/Soundelux

Sound Ideas

Digiffects

  • Sound Ideas, HUMAN, BABY - CHILD CRYING, 10 MONTHS OLD BABY, HUMAN, DIGIFFECTS - This is the most irritating sound I ever heard made by Digiffects. The sound as a whole reminds me of the Baby Kate cry, but one part of this sound sounded like and reminded me of the screams from the Series 2000 baby crying sounds, but a bit tamer. If I hear this Swedish 10 month old child crying in the mid-to-late 80's sound (used in Good Luck Charlie episode "Blanky Go Bye Bye"), I would go listen to the sound on SourceAudio, and listen to the scream in this sound. I previously heard it in a lottery ad on TV in May 2018.
  • The most disturbing sound I ever heard made by Digiffects is Sound Ideas, HUMAN, SCREAM - SCREAMS, WOMAN, VERSION 1, HUMAN, DIGIFFECTS (aka the Creepypasta scream). Oh god, why do I have to hear the sound of a Swedish woman blood-curdling screaming in the mid-to-late 1980's when this sound comes on??!!! This sound should be in a classic Swedish gorey horror movie!! I can't remember when and where I previously heard it.

Someone's reaction to a sound effect they hate

Everyone who hates Sound Ideas, HUMAN, BABY - CRYING (especially DCAsia (don't look DCAsia)):

  • "WAAAAAAAAH-HA-HA-HA-" *BOOM!* Shut up, you damned baby!!! That baby annoys and scares the crap out of someone and should've gotten its milk or needed to be euthanized back then.

Hotheart123 hating on Sound Ideas, CHILDREN, CROWD - SMALL STUDIO AUDIENCE OF CHILDREN: BIG CHEER, CHEERING 01:

  • Oh god, why does she have to hear the sound of a Canadian crowd of children's annoying "YYYYYYYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!!!!!!!!!" in the late 90's when this sound comes on??!!! To her, this sound should be in a dumpster!!
Community content is available under CC-BY-SA unless otherwise noted.